After you’ve tweaked your match settings and are confident in your duplicate match results, you can begin merging.


There are various ways you can go about merging your duplicates:


Merge by selection one-by-one or in bulk

Simply select the matches you want to merge, either by using select all or checking off each one as you review them. Once you’re happy with your selection, click the “Merge Selected” button. The merges will queue and begin merging one by one without you needing to do anything else.


You can select all visible in the page or all of the matches in the data pad in all pages.


Custom merging

Custom merging allows you to select the fields that are kept during the merge with fine granularity. You can also hand select the master record. Once ready, click “Save and merge”, otherwise you can cancel and abort the merge.


To custom merge a match simply click anywhere on the match in the list.


Merge statuses icons

Everytime you start a merge you will notice the match has an icon next to it. This indicates the status of the merge. The statuses are as follows:


  • Pending status. Shows when the merge has been queued but not started yet.

  • Merging status. Shows when the merge for the specific match has started.

  • Finished status. Shows when the merge has finished for the match.

  • Error with message. Any errors that happen during the merge. Will show a message when hovering over the icon.


Automatic merging

You can automate data pads that you’re confident are correct and will continue being correct in the future when new duplicates are found.


Automatic merging can be programmed to merge in the following intervals:


  • ASAP - As soon as possible which is when the background loop/cron will rescan and has found any new duplicates.

  • Specific day(s) of week (e.g. every Saturday and Wednesday)

  • Specific day(s) of month (e.g. every 15th and 1st of the month)

  • On specific times or between times (e.g. between or outside of your business hours)

  • Every X number of minutes/hours/days/weeks/months/etc.


You can abort automerge once started. You can also turn off auto merge later.


Note: The background scan runs on a loop and may not always run exactly on your settings.


WARNING: Be careful to review your data pad settings carefully. Automatic merging will run on it’s own once activated and does not warn you of incorrect matches.


Aborting a merge

You can abort a bulk merge or automerge by clicking on the “Abort Merge” button at the top right corner where the merge numbers are in your data pad.


This action aborts all merges in the given data pad.


Merge rules

Merge rules help you avoid the need to hand select each field in custom merges. You can set merge rules to systematically keep fields based on their attributes (length, amount, date, etc) or attributes of other fields in the same record.


You can also set merge rules for setting the master record by creating a rule for the ID field.


Merge rules can be set per data pad or for all data pads.


Once you’ve set your rules, you can test if they work by checking your matches. Field values with italics and bold indicate that they are pre-selected by one or more of your merge rules.


Merge safety

Keeping your data safe is important and despite the abundance of algorithms they can’t tell you if a match is incorrect without a human eye.


This is why we have a few merge safety settings in place to keep your data from catastrophically incorrect merges.


Match limits

Limits the amount of records allowed per match. Oftentimes too many records per match is a sign of incorrect matches. Keeping this low until you need to find really large matches is best to prevent any accidental bad matches.


Merge limits

This is the max number of records that are allowed to be in a match to be merged. The reason for this setting is to allow you to see large matches but prevent them from being merged. This applies to all merges including automerges.


Match field verification

Adding fillers to required fields is nothing new. To prevent matching by non-unique default or filler data we have field validation. This validates by the expected field format. Currently this supports emails and phone fields.


Merge audit history

Every merge is tracked and can be viewed in the History page. You can view each record type’s merge history by selecting it from the drop down. You can search merged records by searching their names. Use the refresh button to show new merges.


In the merge list you’ll see a few basic fields and the date on when it was merged. It will also tell you if the merge happened via automerge. The list shows the merged records in gray and the leftover record in blue.


Downloading history CSV

If you need to retrieve a list of the merged duplicates pre-merge you can export a CSV. The only data that is not exportable is linked items such as notes, activities, etc.


Click on the “CSV export of originals” icon to export the merge history.